The Park, Historic Garden, of the Monasterio de Piedra
The Monasterio de Piedra was acquired in 1843 after Mendizabal’s seizure (1835), through a public auction by Don Pablo Muntadas Campeny.
In the following years, his sonDon Juan Federico Muntadas, with the help of the Piedra river that crossed the lands, transformed the existing orchard into a landscaped garden full of waterfalls and extraordinary vegetation, and the conventual buildings into a hotel and a hidrotherapic installation.
The Park is a wonderful example of how sometimes the ingenuity of man and the power of nature, in this case the Piedra river and a fascinating natural geology, complement each other to create magical spaces of stunning beauty.
And to this beauty, Don Juan Federico Muntadas also added the construction of the first fish farm in Spain in 1867, of which you can still see a part today, when visiting the park.
From then until now, Monasterio de Piedrahas become a prime tourist destination.The overwhelming nature of the Park with itspaths and waterfalls, make of this Historic Garden a unique place in the world. Today, more than 150 years later, the Piedra river continues sculpturing the rock, and the hand of man is only responsible of keeping the place clean and safe, to ensure an absolutely unforgettable visit to everyone that comes to discover this Park.
A delight for the senses
CataloguedNational Scenic SIte on December 28, 1945, it was in 2010 modified to Site of Cultural Interest in the category of Historic Garden by the Government of Aragon.
Medal for Merit in Tourism by the Government of Aragon in 2011.